Connect with us

Ryan Moore snapped a four-year winless streak in the World Series of Asphalt on Thursday night, leading wire-to-wire to win Night Six of the Super Late Model Speedweeks classic.


The 2013 World Series champion had struggled for much of the week, but finally put the pieces together at the right time, finding race-winning speed on the eve of the Bruce Gowland Memorial 100.

Harrison Burton earned his sixth fastest qualifier award of the week but was victimized by a 10-car invert for the second time during Speedweeks. That placed Moore on the pole for the green flag — a position he would never relinquish.

“We’re celebrating tonight,” he said.

He said he has confidence in his car for longer events but had his hands full with the shorter 35-lap sprints. The invert gave him the clean air he desperately needed all week.

“We just needed to get that good luck charm on that invert,” Moore said.

Ty Majeski made a bold move on Moore with one lap to go but just wasn’t able to seal the deal, ultimately settling for second.

“It’s been a rough week so far but our team never gives up,” Majeski said. But he said his car was free. “Obviously we need to tighten up our race car,” he said. “If that was the 100-lapper we would’ve been in trouble.”

Burton said the caution-free race in addition to the invert provided a tough challenge.

“We had the best car out here,” he said. He added that it was a “pretty cool win” for Moore and saw how excited he was.

Now, he looks toward Saturday.

“We’ve won the pole almost every day and almost led every practice,” said Burton. “We just gotta figure this invert-deal out, but we aren’t going to sand-bag it.”

Moore has two days before he has to worry about the Gowland 100 on Saturday night. He’s going to celebrate his first Super Late Model victory in over a year before tuning his car for 100 laps to close out the event.

“It’s a different deal, Saturday,” Moore said.

The complete results can be found below.

  1. Ryan Moore
  2. Ty Majeski
  3. Harrison Burton
  4. Sam Mayer
  5. Stephen Nasse
  6. Steven Wallace
  7. Derek Kraus
  8. Matt Wallace
  9. Tyler Ankrum
  10. Brad May
  11. Derek Griffith
  12. Darrell Gilchrist
  13. Jerry Artuso
  14. Joseph Graf
  15. Carter Stokes
  16. Gabe Sommers
  17. Justin Ashburn
  18. Steve Weaver Jr.
  19. Russ Shaw

Read more Short Track Scene:

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in Super Late Models