Connect with us

NASHVILLE, TN :: By just the tiniest of margins, Preston Peltier captured the pole for the All-American 400 with a best lap of 18.514 seconds around Fairgrounds Speedway Nashville.

The lap was just .002 seconds faster than the quickest one turned by second-fast qualifier Casey Roderick and they will make up the combined front row for the 32nd running of the Civil War on Wheels. Bubba Pollard, Jeff Choquette and Dalton Sargeant will comprise the top-5.

The most notable thing about Peltier’s pole is that he says the team didn’t even spend much practice time in qualifying trim. He believes that’s a compelling sign for Sunday.

“It’s a really good car,” Peltier said. “I won an ASA Southeastern race here in 2008 but it got taken away from me. So I’ve come in here feeling like we have unfinished business. I’ve won some big races, the World Crown 300, comes to mind but this would mean a lot.

“It’s not just about this race too. This team and I have been close in a lot of these big races. I believe we could lead 399 laps and our luck says something bad will happen. I’m ready to close the door on that.”

Peltier wants to lead that last lap but he wants to lead the others too since they each pay on Sunday.

“But above all else, I’m just focused on sealing the deal. But yeah, I think we could lead a bunch of laps with this car. It’s really good.”

Pollard will start third and is grateful to have that kind of speed.

“You don’t have to have a great qualifying spot but it helps,” Pollard said. “You just don’t want to get caught up in everything back there in these long races. Sometimes guys get nervous in traffic and it’s easy to get run into. So we can definitely manage the race this way.”

The top-28 are automatically locked into the show while the remaining eight will compete for the final four starting positions in a last chance race. The complete qualifying results can be found below.

1. Preston Peltier 18.514
2. Casey Roderick 18.516
3. Bubba Pollard 18.592
4. Jeff Choquette 18.634
5. Dalton Sargeant 18.656
6. Quin Houff 18.661
7. Willie Allen 18.686
8. Auggie Grill  18.730
9. Todd Gilliland 18.754
10. Johnny VanDoorn 18.765
11. Blaine Rocha 18.778
12. Steven Wallace 18.787
13. Christian Eckes 18.812
14. Derek Thorn 18.827
15. Stephen Nasse 18.837
16. Christian McGhee 18.840
17. Chandler Smith 18.850
18. Bobby Kendall 18.859
19. Justin Ashburn 18.862
20. Spencer Davis 18.869
21. Bret Holmes 18.880
22. Tyle Ankrum 18.898
23. Allen Karnes 18.905
24. Ty Majeski 18.926
25. Donnie Wilson 18.935
26. Cole Timm 18.953
27. Cole Rouse 18.953
28. Dennis Schoenfeld 19.010
29. Raphael Lessard 19.012
30. Korbin Forrister 19.137
31. Johnny Brazier 19.179
32. Joesph Meyer 19.198
33. Dennis Prunty 19.219
34. Derek Kraus19.223
35. John DeAnglis 19.290
36. Austin Brawley No Time

Matt Weaver is the owner and founder of Short Track Scene. Weaver grew up in the sport, having raced himself before becoming a reporter in college at the University of South Alabama. He is also the associate motorsports editor of Autoweek Magazine and its website, which allows him to cover the highest levels of the sport.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in Super Late Models