Connect with us

Super Late Models

Ben Ashline wins PASS revival race at Lanier Raceplex

The Maine native awakened the legendary Georgia short track with a win on Saturday

Pro All Stars Series

Ben Ashline made the long trip from Pittston, ME count taking the surprise win for the Pro All Stars Series (PASS) Super Late Models Saturday afternoon in the Lanier National 200 at Lanier Raceplex. Ashline’s first career PASS victory was the first checkered flag that has flown at Lanier since racing was last held here in 2011.

“We traveled down like 1200 miles, really not knowing what to expect and made a few changes and they worked,” said Ashline in victory lane. “Mike [Hopkins] is a great competitor.  We raced hard, we raced clean, and we were racing for the win.  We came down here with high hopes.  This is probably the best race of my career.”

After taking the heat race wins, Ryan Moore and Dawson Fletcher led the field to green, with Fletcher moving to the lead on lap two.  The first caution of the day waved on lap 17 when veteran Randy Gentry went for a spin in turn four.  Fletcher continued to lead until another Georgia teenager, Jake Garcia, would bypass him for the top spot on lap 39.

The third caution of the day waved on lap 67 when Brandon Herbert blew a right front tire entering turn three.  On the restart, Ashline got the better of Garcia to take the lead for the first time of the day.  Ashline maintained the lead through lap 108 when Ryan Herbert slammed the frontstretch wall to bring out the fourth caution of the race.

Ashline continued to lead, but was joined up front by 2019 PASS National Super Late Model champion, Mike Hopkins.  Hopkins persistently tried the high line and was able to take the lead from Ashline on lap 141.  But now, the roles were reversed as Ashline applied pressure to Hopkins for the lead. With 47 laps to go, Hopkins slipped, allowing Ashline to make a run on the inside and retake the lead.

Despite a spin by Fletcher with five laps to go, Ashline would go on to take the win in the Lanier National 200 over Hopkins, Moore, Garcia, and Tate Fogleman. Rounding out the top 10 were Kyle Plott, Hudson Halder, Kyle Seig, Fletcher, and Shane Chastain.

  1. Ben Ashline
  2. Mike Hopkins
  3. Ryan Moore
  4. Jake Garcia
  5. Tate Fogleman
  6. Kyle Plott
  7. Hudson Hadier
  8. Kyle Seig
  9. Dawson Fletcher
  10. Shane Chastain
  11. JP Josiasse
  12. Randy Gentry
  13. Carson Kvapil
  14. Chris Dilbeck
  15. Ryan Herbert
  16. Brandon Herbert
  17. Sheflon Clay
  18. Kodie Conner

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Got a new release you want to send? Are you a touring series or track and want your weekly releases added to Short Track Scene? Send them to [email protected]

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in Super Late Models