Connect with us

ARCA Midwest Tour

$10k Joe Shear Classic draws impressive entry list

Fast Lap Photo | ARCA Midwest Tour

The ARCA Midwest Tour is set to open its season this weekend and it’s a big one.

The Joe Shear Classic at Madison International Speedway in Oregon, Wisconsin pays $10,000-to-win and features a star studded entry list of regional champions from all over the country.

Leading the entry list are three former Midwest Tour champions. Andrew Morrissey is the defending and two-time winner of the Joe Shear Classic and is the 2011 Tour champion. Dan Fredrickson is a two-time series Champion and won a Tour event in 2008. Jonathan Eilen is the 2012 Tour champion and will be making his 119th start this Sunday.

Former Southern Super Series champion and defending Slinger Nationals winner Bubba Pollard is planning on making the trek from Senoia, Georgia to compete in his second Shear Classic. 2016 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Champion, 2017 Oktoberfest 200 winner, and 2015 Joe Shear Classic winner Johnny Sauter is coming back to try to be the third two-time winner of the event.

Back in February, Sauter won the Truck Series season opener at Daytona with crew chief Joe Shear Jr.

Former CRA Super Series champion Johnny VanDoorn is hoping to return home to Michigan with a $10,000 check in his pocket.

No one comes into the Tour opener with more momentum than Dalton Zehr after winning two of the last four Midwest Tour events in 2017. He is also the defending TUNDRA Series champion.

Qualifying will get underway at 12:45pm with racing getting underway at 2 p.m. Previous winners of the Joe Shear Classic include Dan Fredrickson, Steve Carlson, Ross Kenseth, Travis Sauter, Johnny Sauter and Ty Majeski.

Additionally, Andrew Morrisey and Nathan Haseleu are the only two-time winners of the event.

The race will have a live Pay-Per-View broadcast on for $24.99. The complete entry list can be viewed below.

  • Casey Johnson
  • Jeff Holmgren, Jr
  • John Beale
  • Johnny Sauter
  • Erik Darnell
  • John DeAngelis, Jr
  • Paul Shafer, Jr
  • Billy Mohn
  • Eddie Hoffman
  • Kyle Calmes
  • Andy Monday
  • Bobby Kendall
  • Nick Murgic
  • Austin Nason
  • Dean LaPointe
  • Gabe Sommers
  • Michael Ostdiek
  • Dave Tomczak
  • Bubba Pollard
  • Dan Fredrickson
  • Andrew Morrissey
  • Justin Mondeik
  • Jeff VanOudenhoven
  • Rich Bickle, Jr
  • Steve Apel
  • Ricky Baker
  • Johnny VanDoorn
  • Chris Weinkauf
  • Jason Weinkauf
  • Jonathan Eilen
  • Ryan Farrell
  • Dalton Zehr

Read more Short Track Scene:

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Matt Weaver is the owner and founder of Short Track Scene. Weaver grew up in the sport, having raced himself before becoming a reporter in college at the University of South Alabama. He is also the associate motorsports editor of Autoweek Magazine and its website, which allows him to cover the highest levels of the sport.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in ARCA Midwest Tour