Connect with us

Press Releases

Icebreaker 150 Dream Comes True For Timmy Solomito

THOMPSON, Conn. — Timmy Solomito’s dreams came true Sunday afternoon.

The 24-year-old from Islip, New York, ran away with the 42nd Annual Icebreaker at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park to secure his first career NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour victory. Solomito powered past former champion and current NASCAR XFINITY Series driver Ryan Preece to lead the final 34 laps of the Icebreaker 150 en route to the checkered flag.

“I never thought this day would come,” Solomito said. “You lie in bed thinking about things like this. This is a dream come true.”

The victory came in Solomito’s 36th career start. He is in his second full season driving the No. 16 Diversified Metals/R.B. Enterprises Ford for Flamingo Motorsports. The team had won tour championships with Mike Stefanik (2006) and Preece (2013) before turning to the Long Island native. Solomito’s previous best finish was third, four times, including the final two races of 2015.

Preece settled for a runner-up finish, while Justin Bonsignore finished third. Defending tour champion Doug Coby, who was looking for his fifth straight win at Thompson, won the Coors Light Pole Award Saturday but faded late Sunday to finish fourth. Ron Silk rounded out the top five.

The race went green for the first 81 laps. The first caution allowed for all the teams to come down pit road, and Solomito gained three spots to move up to fourth on the restart. Preece, who led the first 85 laps, gave up the lead to Bonsignore, before Solomito powered into the lead for the first time. Preece got the lead back briefly, but Solomito regained the point and steadily pulled away. He won by 3.512 seconds.

Donny Lia, Eric Goodale, Jimmy Blewett, Rowan Pennink and Woody Pitkat rounded out the top 10.

The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour will race next in the NAPA Spring Sizzler 200 at Connecticut’s Stafford Motor Speedway on Sunday, April 24.

The complete results of the Icebreaker 150 can be found below.

  1. Timmy Solomito
  2. Ryan Preece
  3. Justin Bonsignore
  4. Doug Coby
  5. Ron Silk
  6. Donny Lia
  7. Eric Goodale
  8. Jimmy Blewett
  9. Rowan Pennink
  10. Woody Pitkat
  11. Chase Dowling
  12. Max Zachem
  13. Bobby Santos
  14. Patrick Emerling
  15. Matt Swanson
  16. Shawn Solomito
  17. Jamie Tomaino
  18. Rob Summers
  19. Dave Sapienza
  20. Brendon Bock
  21. Andrew Krause
  22. Gary McDonald
  23. Wade Cole
  24. Jeff Goodale
  25. Troy Talman
  26. Craig Lutz
  27. Melissa Fifield

Got a new release you want to send? Are you a touring series or track and want your weekly releases added to Short Track Scene? Send them to [email protected]

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in Press Releases