Connect with us

NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour

Justin Bonsignore takes NASCAR Modified Tour Opener at Jennerstown

Nate Smallwood | NASCAR

It was 253 days between NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour races, but Justin Bonsignore still ended up in the same place.

After closing out the 2019 season with a win, and then waiting through the delay brought upon by the COVID-19 Pandemic, the Holtsville, New York, driver put forth a dominating performance in the 2020 season opener at Jennerstown Speedway.

Bonsignore won the Mayhew Tools Pole Award and then marched virtually unchallenged to the win in the Morocco Welding/Wade Cole Memorial 133 presented by Dunleavy’s Truck & Trailer Repair.

Bonsignore’s No. 51 Phoenix Communications Inc. Chevrolet finished 1.76 seconds ahead of runner-up Craig Lutz. Only the top four finished within 10 seconds of Bonsignore on the .522-mile oval as he claimed his 27th career win. The victory moved him to within one of Mike Ewanitsko and defending tour champion Doug Coby for sixth all-time in tour history.

More importantly, it have Bonsignore the early leg up in the championship chase after he finished just eight points shy of Coby last year.

Jon McKennedy overcame a mid-race flat tire to charge up to third, followed by Matt Hirschman and Calvin Carroll.

Ron Silk finished sixth and Coby, who qualified second, was seventh. Kyle Bonsignore, Matt Swanson and Rob Summers rounded out the top 10.

The Morocco Welding/Wade Cole Memorial 133 presented by Dunleavy’s Truck & Trailer Repair aired live on Trackpass on NBC Gold, and will re-air on Saturday, June 27 at 12am ET on NBCSN.

The Whelen Modified Tour will return to action on Saturday, July 4, with its inaugural visit to White Mountain Motorsports Park in North Woodstock, New Hampshire.

  1. Justin Bonsignore
  2. Craig Lutz
  3. Jon McKennedy
  4. Matt Hirschman
  5. Calvin Carroll
  6. Ron Silk
  7. Doug Coby
  8. Kyle Bonsignore
  9. Matt Swanson
  10. Rob Summers
  11. Sam Rameau
  12. Chris Pasteryak
  13. Dave Sapienza
  14. Eric Goodale
  15. Timmy Solomito
  16. Woody Pitkat
  17. Jeff Gallup
  18. Tyler Rypkema
  19. Patrick Emerling
  20. J R Bertuccio
  21. Jeremy Gerstner
  22. Edward McCarthy
  23. J B Fortin
  24. John Beatty
  25. Roger Turbush
  26. Chase Dowling
  27. Melissa Fifield
  28. Ronnie Williams
  29. Amy Catalano
  30. Timmy Catalano
  31. Walter Sutcliffe Jr
  32. Tommy Catalano
  33. Andrew Krause

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Got a new release you want to send? Are you a touring series or track and want your weekly releases added to Short Track Scene? Send them to [email protected]

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour