Connect with us

NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour

Doug Coby fastest in NWMT Bud King of Beers 150 practice

The five-time champion looks to end Silk and Bonsignore’s respective streaks

Adam Glanzman | NASCAR

Doug Coby wants to be the driver to break Justin Bonsignore’s winning streak at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park.

The Milford, Connecticut, driver is no stranger to Victory Lane at the Connecticut oval — he’s celebrated at the track five times before, and has 10 career poles, including both this season. He’s also clinched all of his five NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour championships at the .625-mile track.

Wednesday, in the only practice session ahead of the Bud ‘King of Beers’ 150, Coby paced the only practice session of the day with a lap of 18.676 seconds (120.475 mph).

READ MORE: The NWMT is starting to give us a championship battle

Bonsignore, who has six consecutive Whelen Modified Tour victories at Thompson, wasn’t far behind. He drove the No. 51 Phoenix Communications Inc. Chevrolet to the second spot with a time of 18.857 seconds (119.319 mph). He’s the only driver in the history of the track to win five, and six, straight races in the 144-race history — and will look to add to his record in the 11th race of the season.

Matt Swanson, who drivers for Boehler Racing, was third. His speed of 18.887 seconds (119.130 mph) was posted early in the session. Patrick Emerling and Ron Silk rounded out the top five.

READ MORE: Derek Pernesiglio is the voice of the Whelen Modified Tour

Silk has two consecutive Whelen Modified Tour wins at New Hampshire Motor Speedway and Stafford Motor Speedway.

Bobby Santos III was sixth, followed by Jimmy Blewett, Craig Lutz, Jon McKennedy and Timmy Solomito.

The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour returns to the track for qualifying ahead of the Bud ‘King of Beers’ 150 at 7 p.m. on Wednesday night. Fans can watch both the qualifying session, and the 11th race of the season, via a live stream on FansChoice.TV.

The results of practice can be found below.

  1. Doug Coby
  2. Justin Bonsignore -.181
  3. Matt Swanson -.211
  4. Patrick Emerling -.231
  5. Ron Silk -.266
  6. Bobby Santos III -.271
  7. Jimmy Blewett -.297
  8. Craig Lutz -.355
  9. Jon McKennedy -.376
  10. Timmy Solomito -.382
  11. Chris Pasteryak -.385
  12. Andrew Krause -.388
  13. Woody Pitkat -.399
  14. Tommy Catalano -.421
  15. Kyle Bonsignore -.454
  16. Rob Summers -.462
  17. Eric Goodale -.502
  18. Joey Mucciacciaro -.505
  19. Andrew Molleur -.508
  20. J.B. Fortin -.516
  21. Calvin Carroll -.532
  22. Blake Barney -.548
  23. Timmy Catalano -.671
  24. Sam Rameau -.680
  25. Mike Rutkoski -.801
  26. Kyle Ellwood -.812
  27. Walter Sutcliffe Jr. -1.163
  28. Ken Heagy -1.518
  29. Wade Cole -1.756
  30. Melissa Fifield -1.909
  31. Kevin Shea -2.260

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Mike Ray

    August 14, 2019 at 6:22 pm

    Thanks for your hard work and coverage!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour