Connect with us


20 Drivers Pre-Entered for SMART Modified Tour Race at Franklin County Speedway

Franklin County Speedway hosting SMART Modified Tour for the first time since 1999 on Saturday

Corey Latham | Race22

Franklin County Speedway will host one of the biggest events in its over half-century history on Saturday when a star-studded SMART Modified Tour field converges upon the high-banked track for 110 laps of racing.

Bobby Labonte, Ryan Preece, Burt Myers, James Civali, and Brandon Ward are among the 20 drivers who will tackle the 3/8-mile bullring’s 22 degrees of banking on Saturday in Callaway, Virginia.  Saturday’s Kenny Minter Classic marks the first time in over 20 years that the SMART Modified Tour has roared to life at the track nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains.

The Commonwealth of Virginia, which has hosted both the SMART Modified Tour (at South Boston) and the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour (in Martinsville) in the past month, has a rich history of Modified racing dating back to the 1940s – and Franklin County Speedway has been a part of that history.  The SMART Modified Tour raced at Franklin County Speedway in the late-90s with races won by Gary Myers, Junior Miller, Jay Foley, Frank Fleming, and Roger Hill.

On Saturday, a sixth name will add their name to that list in the 110-lap Modified feature that is destined to excite fans.  20 drivers have pre-entered for the event, which will go green at 5:30 p.m.  Practice will begin at 1:30 p.m. and qualifying will take place at 3:30 p.m.

James Civali, who is entered in the event, holds the track record at Franklin County Speedway with a 12.867 second, 104.92 mph lap, set in 2007.

The Kenny Minter Classic will be broadcast live on Speed51.TV.

Kenny Minter Classic Entry List

  • 07 Dennis Holdren
  • 1 Burt Myers
  • 2 Ryan Preece
  • 3 Danny Propst
  • 4 Jason Myers
  • 8 Darin Redmon
  • 13 Chris Fleming
  • 15 Brian Loftin
  • 17 Chuck Hossfeld
  • 18 Daniel Yates
  • 22 Jimmy Wallace
  • 24 John Smith
  • 25 Bobby Labonte
  • 40 Frank Fleming
  • 44 Daniel Beeson
  • 55 Jeremy Gerstner
  • 76 Brian Weber
  • 77 Gary Putnam
  • 79 James Civali

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Marquis comes from St. Charles, Maryland and has a widespread background in journalism, having covered politics in Washington and Maryland as well as nearly every form of auto racing, including NASCAR, IndyCar, AMA Motocross and IHRA Drag Racing. Now living near Emerald Isle, North Carolina, Marquis covers Late Model Stock Cars and Super Late Models in the Carolinas and Virginia.

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Albert Bridges

    May 7, 2021 at 6:27 pm

    Thanks goes out to Short Track SCENE for news like this and all the coverage you folks do my favorites are Modifieds but i love Late Model Stock Cars Limited Sportsman as well and you folks cover it all Thanks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in Modifieds