Connect with us

Late Model Stock Cars

Strong Entry List Headlines Hampton Heat

The second leg of the Virginia Late Model Triple Crown features another strong entry list with 30 drivers currently entered in Saturday’s Hampton Heat.

STS file photo

Following a competitive Thunder Road Harley-Davidson 200 at South Boston Speedway that saw 37 cars take the green flag, another strong field is set to descend onto Langley Speedway for the second leg of the Virginia Late Model Triple Crown.

The current entry list for Saturday’s Hampton Heat 200 includes numerous past winners along with champions in the CARS Tour and NASCAR Advance Auto Parts Weekly Series.

Defending Langley Speedway Late Model track champion Brenden Queen is the most recent winner of the Hampton Heat. He obtained the most prestigious victory following a bold three-wide move on a late-race restart that ended up eliminating leaders Connor Hall and Corey Heim from contention.

Hall, who won the Hampton Heat in 2019, is among those looking to add a second victory in the race to their resume, with the list including Nick Smith, Woody Howard and two-time CARS Tour champion Bobby McCarty.

The final 100 laps of the Thunder Road Harley-Davidson were all led by McCarty after he was inverted from the fourth position at the halfway break. McCarty’s victory has him first in the Virginia Late Model Triple Crown standings over Peyton Sellers and Justin Johnson.

Along with Sellers, Johnson and the Langley track regulars, McCarty will also have to contend with his long-time rival in Josh Berry, who is returning to Late Model competition following a successful part-time schedule in the NASCAR Xfinity Series.

More drivers are expected to show up for the Hampton Heat before the green flag drops on Saturday. The complete entry list can be found below.

#03 Brenden Queen
#2 Brandon Pierce
#2 Matt Waltz
#4 Kaden Honeycutt
#5 Carter Langley
#8 Josh Berry
#8 Thomas Scott
#12 Nick Smith
#12 Timothy Peters
#14 Jared Fryar
#16 Chad McCumbee
#21 Greg Edwards
#22 Bobby McCarty
#22 Grayson Cullather
#24 Colin Garrett
#25 Craig Eastep
#26 Danny Edwards Jr.
#26 Peyton Sellers
#29 Casey Wyatt
#36 Ryan Huff
#36 Chris Johnson
#41 Woody Howard
#44 Justin Johnson
#55 Mark Wertz
#64 Rick Gdovic
#72 Dean Shiflett
#77 Blake Stallings
#77 Connor Hall
#90 Terry Carroll
#91 Justin S. Carroll

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Brandon White graduated from the University of North Carolina pursuing a career in journalism. Prior to joining Short Track Scene, he worked with the CARS Tour and at Race22. He predominantly covers the CARS Tour as well as other races throughout the year.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in Late Model Stock Cars