Connect with us

Late Model Stock Cars

Danny Edwards wins Denny Hamlin Short Track Showdown pole

Chris Owens | Short Track Scene

This is the Denny Hamlin Short Track Showdown but Langley Speedway is Danny Edwards’ home turf.

The five-time track champion held serve in East Virginia by capturing the pole for Hamlin Charity Race by capturing the pole with a 15.359 lap around the .4-mile speedway. In group qualifying, Hamlin and fellow veteran Philip Morris were the last two to go out, but the crowd erupted in applause when Hamlin could only post the second best lap.

“It was kind of a surprise, to be honest with you,” Edwards said after group time trials. “I knew it was going to be a tough field, but I feel like we’re already winning.”

Even though the race has the Hamlin Foundation’s name on it, Edwards is perhaps the most beloved figure in the region as a native of Poquoson, Virginia.

“Well, I don’t know about that,” Edwards said. “Maybe, we’re the underdogs a little bit and people like that.”

Hamlin wanted the pole, but he had a degree of appreciation that a local guy took the spotlight in qualifying and ran with it.

“For sure, we need to give these guys that win at Langley and the CARS Tour a chance to prove that they could easily race on Sundays if things had turned out differently.

“Danny winning the pole says a lot about them. This is going to be a dogfight.”

Kyle Busch qualified third as a Nelson Motorsports teammate to Hamlin and Timothy Peters, who qualified fourth.

The complete results of time trials can be found below.

  1. Danny Edwards 15.359
  2. Denny Hamlin 15.400
  3. Kyle Busch 15.411
  4. Timothy Peters 15.413
  5. Ty Gibbs 15.415
  6. CE Falk 15.436
  7. Peyton Sellers 15.440
  8. Nick Smith 15.464
  9. Connor Hall 15.467
  10. Justin T. Carroll 15.484
  11. Philip Morris 15.491
  12. Myatt Snider 15.503
  13. Tyler Hughes 15.505
  14. Matt Bowling 15.510
  15. Ryan Vargas 15.525
  16. Brenden Queen 15.527
  17. Doug Barnes 15.586
  18. Ruben Garcia Jr. 15.600
  19. Mason Diaz 15.629
  20. Nicholas Sanchez 15.631
  21. Brett Moffitt 15.642
  22. Woody Howard 15.643
  23. Casey Wyatt 15.652
  24. Mark Wertz 15.667
  25. Grayson Cullather 15.674
  26. Chase Cabre 15.677
  27. Eddie Johnson 15.729
  28. Terry Carroll 15.786
  29. Colin Garrett 15.853
  30. Justin S. Carroll 15.869
  31. Bubba Johnston 16.020
  32. Christopher Johnson 16.069
  33. Cody Carlton 16.153

Read more Short Track Scene:

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Matt Weaver is the owner and founder of Short Track Scene. Weaver grew up in the sport, having raced himself before becoming a reporter in college at the University of South Alabama. He is also the associate motorsports editor of Autoweek Magazine and its website, which allows him to cover the highest levels of the sport.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in Late Model Stock Cars