Connect with us

NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour

Patrick Emerling wins three-wide battle in All-Star Shootout at New Hampshire

Recap and results from the sixth-annual Modified Tour All-Star Race

Three-wide racing to the finish on the biggest stage in Tour-Type Modified racing.

Patrick Emerling edged two other NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour veterans in a three-wide finish to win the sixth annual All-Star Shootout on Friday at New Hampshire Motor Speedway. Emerling became the sixth different winner of the non-points event in its six-year history, and scored his first win at the ‘Magic Mile.’

The 26-year-old had come close to winning in the Granite State before, but nothing compares to holding the checkered flag at NHMS. His margin of victory was a mere .022 seconds.

“We have been working on just getting faster here,” Emerling said. “We’ve always raced well, but we just wanted to come back with a car that was just a little bit better. I’m proud of our team. It was definitely a good day for us.”

Into turn three on the final lap, Emerling shot to the bottom of Bobby Santos III with his No. 07 Sahlen’s Chevrolet and pulled ahead, but Santos wasn’t about to give up. He crossed under Emerling, and drag-raced him down the front stretch, while defending series champion Justin Bonsignore cut to the bottom of both of them and made it three-wide coming down the frontstretch.

Emerling led just four of the 35 laps, but, he led the most important one.

“We unloaded today with a new car and a whole new setup, and we weren’t sure what to do for pre-race adjustments,” Emerling said. “There was one point in the race where I was hanging on for dear life. We were lucky to get some clean air.”

Santos, who was competing in his first race filling-in for Dave Sapienza, was nearly hoisting the trophy at NHMS once again. The Franklin, Massachusetts, driver has won three of the last four Whelen Modified Tour points races at the 1.058-mile oval.

“I’ve been in that situation multiple times and been lucky enough to be the winner, but this time I wasn’t, which is a bummer,” the 2010 Whelen Modified Tour champion said. “Patrick made the right move going to the bottom, and I had a couple of different options, but I guess I made the wrong decision.”

Bonsignore was third, just .067 seconds back, while Jon McKennedy and Ron Silk rounded out the top five.

Craig Lutz, who started from the pole and led 15 laps, finished sixth. Ryan Newman, Timmy Solomito, Jimmy Blewett and Tommy Catalano completed the top-10.

The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour returns to the track on Saturday for the regular season race at the New Hampshire Motor Speedway. The complete results can be found below.

  1. Patrick Emerling
  2. Bobby Santos III
  3. Justin Bonsignore
  4. Jon McKennedy
  5. Ron Silk
  6. Craig Lutz
  7. Ryan Newman
  8. Timmy Solomito
  9. Jimmy Blewett
  10. Tommy Catalano
  11. Eric Goodale
  12. Doug Coby
  13. Ryan Preece
  14. Calvin Carroll
  15. Andy Seuss
  16. Matt Swanson
  17. Woody Pitkat
  18. Chase Dowling
  19. Bryan Dauzat
  20. Wade Cole

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour