Connect with us

NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour

Pit Box: Justin Bonsignore looks for six in a row at Thompson

Adam Glanzman/NASCAR

No time for rest for NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour teams.

In the quickest turnaround of the season, drivers will hit the track on Wednesday night at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park, as the second race in five days is contested in front of a packed Connecticut crowd. The visit to Thompson is the second of four this season for the Whelen Modified Tour, and it’s the shortest race of the four, scheduled for just 125 laps.


Justin Bonsignore has been unstoppable at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park. With five consecutive wins behind the wheel of the No. 51 Phoenix Communications Inc. Chevrolet, Bonsignore has shown time and time again that he is the car to beat when the series visits the Connecticut oval.

But Wednesday night’s Thompson 125 is a wildcard out of the four stops at the .625-mile. With the race scheduled for 25 laps less, teams usually put together pit strategy that mixes the field up and puts the driver with fresh tires at the end of the race in the best chance to win. But, pitting early, and staying out late, could be the right move.

Doug Coby has three wins in the first six races, and dominated Thompson’s Icebreaker in April before a penalty on pit road cost him a shot at the win. Coby will make his 60th career start at Thompson, and will look to add his sixth checkered flag. He’s finished inside the top six in 10 of his last 11 starts there.

Two former NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour champions are joining the field looking to grab their first Thompson wins. Walnut Cove, North Carolina, driver Burt Myers returns to competition, but this time, he will sit behind the wheel of the No. 36 for the injured Dave Sapienza. Myers finished sixth at Thompson in April, in one of three top seven finishes before he took his talent back to Bowman Gray Stadium to chase another Modified title.

George Brunnhoelzl III will drive the No. 1 Dunleavy’s Chevrolet for Eddie Harvey, beginning a partnership that is expected to include select events throughout the rest of the season. In three previous Thompson starts, his best finish of 16th came in 2010, but he hasn’t turned a lap there in nine years.


PLACEThompson Speedway Motorsports Park, Thompson, Connecticut
DATEWednesday, June 5
TIME8 p.m. (approx.)
TELEVISIONFansChoice.TV, 8 p.m. (live streaming)
TRACK LAYOUT.625-mile high-banked asphalt oval
2018 WINNERJustin Bonsignore
2018 POLEDoug Coby
EVENT SCHEDULEGarage Opens: 1:45 p.m. EDT, Final Practice: 4-5 p.m., Group Qualifying: 6:45 p.m., Driver Autograph Session: 7 p.m., Thompson 125: 8 p.m. (approx.)
TWITTER@NASCARHomeTrack, @thompsonspdwy
HASHTAG#NWMT, #Thompson125


The starting field for the Thompson 125 is limited to 36 starters, including provisional positions. The first 30 drivers will secure starting positions through the qualifying process. The remaining six positions will be awarded through the provisional process.

NASCAR group qualifying is in place for this event. Qualifying order will be determined by each vehicle’s fastest single lap from the official practice session. The number of groups for qualifying will be determined by NASCAR. Each group qualifying session will be five (5) minutes in duration and the fastest single lap speed of each vehicle will determine starting positions 1 through 30. Adjustments or repairs may not be made on a vehicle after the vehicle enters the track to begin the qualifying session. Vehicles may not return to the track or make any further qualifying laps unless directed to do so by a NASCAR Official or in the event of a caution. If a vehicle returns to pit road, the vehicle’s qualifying attempt is complete. Once a vehicle’s qualifying attempt is complete, the vehicle must proceed directly to the designated impound area once it enters pit road. Vehicles will proceed immediately to impound after making qualifying attempt. Vehicles will be impounded after qualifying/inspection and must qualify on race set up. Only minor adjustments will be permitted after qualifying.

The maximum tire allotment available for this event is ten (10) tires per team. Four (4) tires must be used for qualifying and to begin the race. The tire change rule is three (3) tires, any position.

The entry list can be found below:

  • 01 – Melissa Fifield
  • 1 – George Brunnhoelzl III
  • 2 – Doug Coby
  • 3 – Matt Swanson
  • 06 – Sam Rameau
  • 6 – Ryan Preece
  • 07 – Patrick Emerling
  • 7 – Jon McKennedy
  • 14 – Blake Barney
  • 16 – Timmy Solomito
  • 18 – Ken Heagy
  • 20 – Max Zachem
  • 21 – Jimmy Blewett
  • 23 – John Montesanto
  • 24 – Andrew Krause
  • 25 – Calvin Carroll
  • 33 – Wade Cole
  • 34 – J.B. Fortin
  • 35 – Andrew Molleur
  • 36 – Burt Myers
  • 38 – Kyle Ellwood
  • 45 – Timmy Catalano
  • 46 – Craig Lutz
  • 47 – Joey Mucciacciaro
  • 51 – Justin Bonsignore
  • 54 – Tommy Catalano
  • 58 – Eric Goodale
  • 64 – Rob Summers
  • 75 – Chris Pasteryak
  • 78 – Walter Sutcliffe, Jr.
  • 82 – Woody Pitkat
  • 85 – Ron Silk
  • 92 – Anthony Nocella

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour