Connect with us

Super Late Models

Ty Majeski wins Triple Crown Challenge in return to Super Late Models

Jess Riedner

Ty Majeski hadn’t ridden his bicycle in awhile, but you never forget how.

Majeski won the 50-lap Super Late Model Triple Crown Challenge on Friday night at Madison International Speedway. The win was his fourth in Triple Crown history at Madison.

It was his first win since taking two features during the World Series of Asphalt in February.

“It’s tough not racing as much here. It’s tough to come and race against these guys. I feel so honored to come back here and race these cars,” said Majeski. “Toby (Nuttleman, crew chief) has been doing his homework and I’ve been doing mine.”

Chris and Jason Weinkauf paced the field to the green flag. After a pair of laps Jason Weinkauf took the top spot followed by Chris Weinkauf, Majeski, Casey Johnson, and Austin Nason. On Lap 8, Majeski moved to the inside of Chris Weinkauf and the two ran side by side for two laps before Majeski took the second spot with Johnson into third.

On lap 12 Majeski found room to the inside of Jason Weinkauf to take the lead coming out of turn two. One lap later Johnson moved into second place setting his sights on the lead.

Majeski was able to build his lead and by lap 20 had increased it to four car lengths with Nason a distant third. At the half-way point the lead was 0.5 seconds with Majeski and Johnson turning nearly identical lap times. Moving up through the field was the car of Rich Bickle Jr. who moved past Jason Weinkauf on lap 29 to take over the fourth spot.

With 15 laps to go Majeski’s advantage had increased to nearly a full second over Johnson. The only thing Johnson and the rest of the field could do at this point was hope for a caution flag, but it never materialized as Majeski picked up the checkered flag. Johnson, Nason, Bickle Jr. and Jason Weinkauf rounded out the top five.

Casey Johnson set fast time with a circuit of 17.616 (102.180 mph). Johnson also was fast qualifier in the first round in June. Heat winners were Matt Kocourek and Ty Majeski.

Super Late Model Triple Crown Challenge

A Feature 1 50 laps

1. 91M-Ty Majeski, [3]; 2. 5J-Casey Johnson, [5]; 3. 14N-Austin Nason, [4]; 4. 45B-Rich Bickle Jr., [8]; 5. 76W-Jason Weinkauf, [2]; 6. 75W-Chris Weinkauf, [1]; 7. 43K-Matt Kocourek, [9]; 8. 5H-Jeff Holmgren Jr, [6]; 9. 88C-Rick Corso, [12]; 10. 15L-Dean LaPointe, [11]; 11. 53C-Jake Carpenter, [10]; 12. 15S-Gabe Sommers, [7] Heat 1 10 laps
1. 43K-Matt Kocourek, [1]; 2. 45B-Rich Bickle Jr., [2]; 3. 15S-Gabe Sommers, [3]; 4. 88C-Rick Corso, [6]; 5. 15L-Dean LaPointe, [5] Heat 2 10 laps
1. 91M-Ty Majeski, [1]; 2. 14N-Austin Nason, [2]; 3. 5H-Jeff Holmgren Jr, [6]; 4. 75W-Chris Weinkauf, [5]; 5. 76W-Jason Weinkauf, [4]; 6. 5J-Casey Johnson, [3] Qualifying 1
1. 5J-Casey Johnson, [3]; 2. 14N-Austin Nason, [10]; 3. 91M-Ty Majeski, [8]; 4. 76W-Jason Weinkauf, [6]; 5. 75W-Chris Weinkauf, [5]; 6. 5H-Jeff Holmgren Jr, [9]; 7. 15S-Gabe Sommers, [12]; 8. 45B-Rich Bickle Jr., [2]; 9. 43K-Matt Kocourek, [1]; 10. 53C Jake Carpenter, [4]; 11. 15L-Dean LaPointe, [11]; 12. 88C-Rick Corso, [7]

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Matt Weaver is the owner and founder of Short Track Scene. Weaver grew up in the sport, having raced himself before becoming a reporter in college at the University of South Alabama. He is also the associate motorsports editor of Autoweek Magazine and its website, which allows him to cover the highest levels of the sport.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in Super Late Models