Connect with us

CARS Late Model Stock Tour

CARS Super Late season opens with 10k to win at Myrtle Beach

Matt Weaver | STS

Two weeks ago, the CARS Tour Late Model Stock division kicked-off 2018 with a star-studded $10,000-to-win event won by Bobby McCarty and now it’s time for the Super Late Models to take center stage.

For those unfamiliar with CARS Tour, the series has two divisions that often race on the same night at the same venue in a doubleheader format. The Late Model Stocks shared Tri-County with Limited Late Models two weeks ago but this weekend’s event at Myrtle Beach will be a more familiar LMSC-SLM doubleheader.

But the Super Late Models will headline the night with its own $10,000-to-win race.

The entry list is headlined by 2016 champion Raphael Lessard, making just his third start for Kyle Busch Motorsports in his pursuit of a second championship. The list also contains three-time All-Pro Series champion Jeff Fultz in a rare one-off appearance. Two-time PASS South champion Matt Craig is also entered as is that tour’s winningest driver, Preston Peltier, and the CARS Tour debut of popular northwestern driver Milly Helmuth.

The complete entry list can be found below.

  • Darrell Gilchrist
  • Taylor Stricklin
  • Tate Fogleman
  • Jared Fryar
  • Molly Helmuth
  • Chandler Smith
  • Preston Peltier
  • Kodie Conner
  • Chris Fontaine
  • Jeff Batten
  • Raphael Lessard
  • Matt Craig
  • Jeff Fultz
  • Gus Dean
  • Ryan Moore
  • Corey Heim
  • Jody Measamer (17 total)

READ MORE: Jeff Fultz returns to Super Late racing at Myrtle Beach

The Late Model Stock division will also return for its second race of the season, headlined by its Touring 12.

But in addition to the series regulars, Myrtle Beach regulars like Sam Yarbrough and Bryant Barnhill will also make one-offs on the tour.

“I think our weekly racing here at Myrtle Beach really prepares us for a big event like the CARS Tour,” Barnhill said. “Every week is challenging to get top fives and wins because of the competition we are used to seeing down here at the beach on a regular basis. Myrtle Beach is already a challenging track, with the tires and the way you have to race the place; then the competition the CARS Tour brings comes in to factor, and you really have to step your game up to be competitive. I know for me personally, this will give me a good gage of where I am against some of the best in the region.”

The complete Late Model Stock entry list can be found below.

  • Deac McCaskill
  • Bradley McCaskill
  • Craig Moore
  • Cody Haskins
  • Brandon Pierce
  • Lee Pullium
  • Justin Crider
  • Sam Mayer
  • Charlie Watson
  • Joe Graff Jr.
  • Ryan Repko
  • Colby Howard
  • Bryant Barnhill
  • Ty Gibbs
  • Sam Yarbrough
  • Grayson Cullather
  • Bobby McCarty
  • Craig Stallard
  • Justin Johnson
  • Matt Cox
  • Justin Carroll
  • Ronald Hill
  • Trevor Ward
  • Josh Berry
  • Jacob Heafner
  • Layne Riggs (26 total)

Every CARS Tour event can be watched live and on demand via CARSTour.TV


Track/Location: Myrtle Beach Speedway-Myrtle Beach, SS
Track Size: .500-mile
Event Name: 200 pres. by Honeywell
Laps/Distance: 100L/50 miles (each)
Event Schedule: Practice: 10:00AM-11:35AM, Qualifying: 2:00PM, Green: 3:30PM LMSC-SLM
Twitter Handle/Event Hashtag: @CARSTour / @MB_Speedway / #BakerDist200

Read more Short Track Scene:

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Matt Weaver is the owner and founder of Short Track Scene. Weaver grew up in the sport, having raced himself before becoming a reporter in college at the University of South Alabama. He is also the associate motorsports editor of Autoweek Magazine and its website, which allows him to cover the highest levels of the sport.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in CARS Late Model Stock Tour