Connect with us

WATERFORD, Conn. – Ron Silk powered past polesitter Eric Goodale one-third of the way through the New England Cycle Center 161 Saturday at New London-Waterford Speedbowl and never looked back.

Silk, of Norwalk, Connecticut, held off the field down the stretch to record his 10th career NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour victory. It was his first at the Speedbowl, and it came in just his third race with new car owner Danny Watts Jr. and the No. 82 Horton Avenue Materials Chevrolet team.

“I was starting to wonder if I was ever going to get back,” Silk said. “I’ve been close a bunch of times since then. It was just, whatever reason it didn’t work out. It’s great to be back.”

Max Zachem, of nearby Preston, Connecticut, crossed the stripe second for his best career finish. Jimmy Blewett joined him on the podium in third.

Jeff Goodale and Rob Summers rounded out the top five while Brendon Bock, Matt Swanson, Doug Coby, Donny Lia and Jamie Tomaino completed the top 10. Saturday also marked career-best finishes for Jeff Goodale and Bock.

Tomaino extended his Whelen Modified Tour record for career starts to 600 in the event.

Silk, the 2011 Whelen Modified Tour titlist, ended a 42-race winless drought with his first victory since August 2012 at Bristol Motor Speedway.
After three events the two-time defending champion Coby leads Timmy Solomito by eight points and Zachem by 15 in the season standings.

The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour will return to action on June 3 at Stafford Motor Speedway for the TSI Harley-Davidson 125.

  1. Ron Silk
  2. Max Zachem
  3. Jimmy Blewett
  4. Jeff Goodale
  5. Rob Summers
  6. Brendon Bock
  7. Matt Swanson *
  8. Doug Coby
  9. Donny Lia
  10. Jamie Tomaino
  11. Craig Lutz *
  12. Gary McDonald
  13. Ken Heagy
  14. Ted Christopher
  15. Timmy Solomito
  16. Tom Adele, Jr.
  17. Justin Bonsignore
  18. Rowan Pennink
  19. Woody Pitkat
  20. Eric Goodale
  21. Walter Sutcliffe Jr. *
  22. Dave Sapienza
  23. Andrew Krause *
  24. Chase Dowling
  25. Wade Cole
  26. Bobby Santos
  27. Nick Salva *
  28. Melissa Fifield

Got a new release you want to send? Are you a touring series or track and want your weekly releases added to Short Track Scene? Send them to [email protected].

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Press Releases