Connect with us

The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour will make the first and only appearance of the 2017 season at Seekonk (Mass.) Speedway on Saturday night. The Seekonk 150 will mark the 11th of 16 races on the championship schedule for this season. Below is a statistical look at the race, including selected driver notes:

Seekonk 150 Race Setup:

The Seekonk 150 marks the beginning of a tough stretch for Whelen Modified Tour teams that want to be in contention for the championship come October. Entering Seekonk, Timmy Solomito holds a two point advantage in the championship standings over Rowan Pennink. Solomito also enters the race as the defending winner. This race will mark only the second stop at Seekonk in the last 12 years.

At Seekonk Speedway:

• A .333-mile asphalt oval, Seekonk Speedway has operated continuously under the direction of the Venditti family since its opening in 1946, when D. Anthony Venditti built the track just a few miles west of Providence, Rhode Island.
• The track is a member of the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series family, holding racing every Saturday night. The track’s top division is the Pro Stock (Super Late Model) class.
• Seekonk Speedway has hosted six previous Whelen Modified Tour races, the first in 1987. The Tour visited each year from 2000-2005, with the lone exception being in 2003.

• Reggie Ruggiero won the first NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour race held at Seekonk in 1987.
• Jerry Marquis won at Seekonk in 2000, the same year he went on to win the championship.
• No driver has won multiple races or poles at Seekonk. Ruggiero has a win and a pole at the track, in different seasons.

Seekonk Data:
Race: #11 of 16 overall
Race Date: Saturday, August 26 at 8 p.m. ET
Track Layout: .333-mile banked asphalt oval
Race Length: 150 laps (49.99 miles)

Qualifying/Race Data:
2016 Winner: Timmy Solomito
2015 Pole Sitter: Doug Coby
1-lap Qualifying Record: 102.121 mph (Tommy Cravenho, 11.739 seconds, June 2000)
150-lap Race Record: 66.347 mph (Jerry Marquis, June 2000)

Category Leaders at Seekonk:


1. Seven drivers tied with… 1


1. Seven drivers tied with… 1

Laps Led

1. Eric Beers … 187
2. Reggie Ruggiero … 170
3. Ed Flemke Jr. … 124
4. Doug Coby … 108
5. Chris Kopec … 107

Top Fives  

1. Eric Beers … 2
John Blewett III … 2
Doug Coby … 2
Tony Hirschman … 2
Jerry Marquis … 2

Selected Driver Highlights:

Timmy Solomito (No. 16 Starrett Tools Ford)
• Leading the championship standings entering Seekonk by two points with three wins in 10 races this season.
• Has seven wins, 21 top fives and 35 top 10s in 62 career Whelen Modified Tour starts.
• Is the defending winner of the Seekonk 150.

Justin Bonsignore (No. 51 Phoenix Communications Inc. Chevrolet)
• Enters Seekonk fifth in the Whelen Modified Tour championship standings, 19 from the lead.
• Finished second in last year’s race at Seekonk after starting third.
• Has 12 wins, 52 top fives and 72 top 10s in 115 career Whelen Modified Tour starts.

Doug Coby (No. 2 Mayhew Tools/Dunleavy/AJ Romano Construction Chevrolet)
• The four-time Whelen Modified Tour champion sits fourth in the standings, 17 from the lead entering Seekonk.
• Has yet to visit Victory Lane this season, but has 22 wins in 198 career Whelen Modified Tour starts.
• Finished third in the Seekonk 150 last year.
• Won a non-NASCAR Modified open race at Seekonk in July of 2016.

Rowan Pennink (No. 3 Cape Cod Copper Chevrolet)
• Enters Seekonk second in the championship standings, two points from the lead with one victory this season.
• Has three wins, 31 top fives and 75 top 10s in 151 career Whelen Modified Tour starts.
• Has nine top 10s in the first 10 races of the season.

Eric Goodale (No. 58 GAF Roofing Chevrolet)
• Sits sixth in the current standings with six top 10s in the first 10 races of the season.
• Won at Bristol Motor Speedway for his second career win in August of 2016.
• Last year at Seekonk, Goodale started fifth and finished sixth.

Ryan Preece (No. 6 TS Hauler/Hoosier Tire of Calverton Chevrolet)
• The two-time Whelen Modified Tour champion has four wins this season and sits third in the championship standings, 10 from the lead.
• Does not have any career starts at the third-mile Seekonk Speedway.
• In eight races this season, Preece has seven top five finishes.

Dave Sapienza (No. 36 Sapienza Enterprise Chevrolet)
• Has three top fives and eight top 10s in 41 career Whelen Modified Tour starts.
• Had two consecutive podium finishes earlier this season.
• Last season at Seekonk, Sapienza qualified 16th and finished 11th.

Ted Christopher (No. 82 Horton Avenue Materials Chevrolet)
• Has 42 wins, 133 top fives and 203 top 10s in 370 career Whelen Modified Tour starts.
• Christopher has five career starts at Seekonk with a best finish of third in 2001.

Max Zachem (No. 20 Lu-Mac’s Package Store Chevrolet)
• Has six top 10s in nine starts this season on the Whelen Modified Tour, but missed the last race at Bristol.
• Started ninth and finished 13th in last year’s race at Seekonk
• Finished a career-best second at Waterford and equaled that at Thompson in 2016.

Up To Speed:
• This is the 33rd season of NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour racing. The first event was held in 1985 at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park, won by Richie Evans.
• The 2017 schedule includes 16 points races at nine different tracks, across seven different states. It also includes two non-points events at New Hampshire Motor Speedway and Charlotte Motor Speedway.
• Following the Seekonk 150, the NWMT will return to action at Oswego Speedway on September 2.

Read more Short Track Scene:

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in Modifieds