Connect with us

Sunday’s 60 lap Late Model race turned into a showdown between Limited Late Model all-stars Mack Little and Ross “Boo Boo” Dalton with Little scoring the victory.  Two days after the race, it’s Dalton who has been awarded the win.

Dalton, who referred to Little as “the biggest cheater I think there is on the East Coast” after the race, protested the camshaft on Little’s car.

“Whenever I got behind him, I was better than him through the corners and could pull up to him on the straightaway,” Dalton told Short Track Scene.  “Halfway through the straightaway, he’d pull away and that’s top end on it.  We knew he was wrong and it was either pistons or the cam so we protested pistons and the cam and sure enough the cam was out quite a bit.  Sure enough we came out on top.”

The victory Dalton inherited is his 11th win of the year.  He has scored victories at Ace Speedway, Orange County Speedway, South Boston Speedway and, now, Franklin County Speedway.

“It feels great, man,” Dalton remarked.  “To be that competitive all day and have the best racecar is really satisfying to have a good car at all these tracks.  That’s win number 11 for us.  We’ve won 11 races at four different tracks.  That’s a huge season for us so far.”

Little was disappointed about the disqualification, saying it was the first time he has ever been disqualified after a race.

“I mean, I don’t really know, it’s just one of those things,” Little told Short Track Scene.  “I thought everything was right or I wouldn’t have even torn down.  I hold my head high.  I’ve been racing 21 years and this is the first time I’ve ever been disqualified.  I was actually by the GM manual, I was one-thousandths undersized on the cam.  I’ll take it.  It is what it is.  Move on and I’ll be at another racetrack soon.”

Dalton protested the camshaft on Little’s car immediately after the conclusion of Sunday evening’s 60 lap race.  Franklin County Speedway had the camshaft looked over by two separate, uninterested parties and both found the intake and exhaust base circle to be out of tolerance.

Following the verdict by Franklin County Speedway, Dalton was awarded the win with Alex Yontz finishing second, Kyle Dudley third, Amber Lynn fourth and Thad Moffit fifth.

Official Results

  1. Boo Boo Dalton
  2. Alex Yontz
  3. Kyle Dudley
  4. Amber Lynn
  5. Thad Moffitt
  6. Josh Leedy
  7. Rusty Gaspard
  8. Jonathan Hall
  9. Ricky Gillespie
  10. Wesley Thomason
  11. Mack Little — DQ

Marquis comes from St. Charles, Maryland and has a widespread background in journalism, having covered politics in Washington and Maryland as well as nearly every form of auto racing, including NASCAR, IndyCar, AMA Motocross and IHRA Drag Racing. Now living near Emerald Isle, North Carolina, Marquis covers Late Model Stock Cars and Super Late Models in the Carolinas and Virginia.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in Late Model Stock Cars