Connect with us

NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour

Jon McKennedy earns first career pole at New Hampshire

The Tommy Baldwin Racing No. 7 will lead the field to green …

Adam Glanzman/NASCAR

A bridesmaid no more.

Jon McKennedy had qualified second in his NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour career, but Saturday, he earned the top spot. McKennedy posted the fastest time and scored his first career Mayhew Tools Dominator Pole Award ahead of the Eastern Propane & Oil 100 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

His fast time around the ‘Magic Mile’ was a lap of 28.864 seconds (131.957 mph) driving for Tommy Baldwin. In nine previous New Hampshire starts, McKennedy has a best finish of eighth, last September in the inaugural Musket 250.

“Big thanks to Tommy and all of the guys, they gave me an awesome car to drive,” McKennedy said. “I’ve had a lot of good qualifying runs, but could never get that pole. We were finally able to get it for one of the biggest shows of the year.”

RECAP + RESULTS: All-Star Shootout

Defending series champion Justin Bonsignore, who has one New Hampshire win to his credit, qualified second. Bonsignore’s top time was a lap of 28.887 seconds (131.852 mph). In Friday’s All-Star Shootout, Bonsignore was part of a three-wide finish across the line, where he finished third.

Patrick Emerling, who won Friday’s sixth annual Shootout, qualified third in his quest to sweep the weekend. Tommy Catalano and Matt Swanson completed the top five.

Bobby Santos III was sixth, followed by Doug Coby, Chase Dowling, Rob Summers and Jimmy Blewett.

The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour returns to the track for the Eastern Propane & Oil 100 at 1:45 p.m. on Saturday afternoon. The race will air live on FansChoice.TV.

Full qualifying results can be found below:

  1. Jon McKennedy
  2. Justin Bonsignore
  3. Patrick Emerling
  4. Tommy Catalano
  5. Matt Swanson
  6. Bobby Santos III
  7. Doug Coby
  8. Chase Dowling
  9. Rob Summers
  10. Jimmy Blewett
  11. Craig Lutz
  12. Andrew Krause
  13. Ron Silk
  14. Anthony Nocella
  15. Ryan Newman
  16. Blake Barney
  17. Calvin Carroll
  18. Andy Seuss
  19. Ryan Preece
  20. Eric Goodale
  21. Max Zachem
  22. Timmy Solomito
  23. Chris Pasteryak
  24. Woody Pitkat
  25. Andrew Molleur
  26. Joey Mucciacciaro
  27. Sam Rameau
  28. Jeff Rocco
  29. Timmy Catalano
  30. Tyler Rypkema
  31. J.B. Fortin
  32. Brian Dauzat
  33. Kyle Ellwood
  34. Todd Cooper
  35. Wade Cole
  36. Walter Sutcliffe Jr.
  37. Jacob Perry
  38. Melissa Fifield

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour