Connect with us

NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour

Whelen Modified Tour Riverhead preview, entry list

Adam Glanzman | NASCAR

With seven races down, and nine remaining, the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour season will hit the halfway point on Saturday at Riverhead Raceway.

The first of two annual stops at the historic bullring will put some of the best of the Whelen Modified Tour up against the top local talent of Riverhead’s NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Modified division.

What better way to spend a Saturday night? Watch NASCAR’s top modified talent compete in the tight corners of Riverhead while leaning on each other chasing the checkered flag.


Justin Bonsignore has Riverhead Raceway figured out.

The Holtsville, New York, driver is no stranger to Victory Lane at his home track. After competing in the local Modified division prior to his step up to the Whelen Modified Tour, Bonsignore has been successful driving for Kenneth Massa Motorsports. He has won five of the last eight tour races the New York oval, including sweeping both events last year, where he led 126 of 400 laps, and qualified on the front row for both races. His worst starting position in his six career wins at Riverhead is seventh.

But Bonsignore isn’t the only driver in the field with previous success at Riverhead that ran in the Whelen All-American Series division. Timmy Solomito has won the three events in the last eight that Bonsignore didn’t, leading 378 of 600 laps contested in his victories. Last year, the Islip, New York, driver was at the front of the field for 69 laps in September, before settling for second.

Multiple Riverhead Whelen All-American Series regulars will also compete in the Buzz Chew Chevrolet Cadillac 200 on Saturday. Mike Rutkoski, a former Crate Modified champion at Riverhead, will compete in the No. 88 for Buzz Chew. Roger Turbush, a winner this year in the Division I Modified class, will drive the No. 88 for Pat Kennedy. Both John Fortin and J.B. Fortin, two drivers who have competed at Riverhead weekly for many years, are also entered. J.B. Fortin is chasing Sunoco Rookie of the Year honors on the Whelen Modified Tour this season.

Filling-in for the injured Dave Sapienza, former series competitor Frank Vigliarolo Jr. returns to action. The Medford, New York, driver has a best finish of second in tour action, back in 2004.


Place: Riverhead Raceway
Date: Saturday, July 6
Time: 8 p.m. approx.
TV: FansChoice.TV
Track Layout: Quarter-Mile
2018 Winner: Justin Bonsignore
Schedule: Garage opens at 12:45; Final Practice from 3:15-4:30; Qualifying at 6 p.m.; Race at 8 p.m.


The starting field for the Buzz Chew Chevrolet Cadillac 200 is 28 starters, including provisional positions. The first 22 drivers will secure starting positions through the qualifying process. The remaining six positions will be awarded through the provisional process.

Two consecutive qualifying laps will set the starting field. Faster lap determines starting position. Adjustments or repairs may not be made on the vehicle after the vehicle has taken the green flag. NASCAR reserves the right to have more than one vehicle engage in qualifying runs at the same time. Vehicles will be impounded after qualifying and must qualify on race set up. After qualifying, all vehicles will proceed immediately to the impound area. Only minor adjustments will be permitted following qualifying.

The maximum tire allotment available for this event is eight (8) tires per team. Four (4) tires must be used for qualifying and to begin the race. The tire change rule is zero (0) tires, any position.


  1. Doug Coby Ldr
  2. Ron Silk -31
  3. Justin Bonsignore -39
  4. Woody Pitkat -58
  5. Craig Lutz -64
  6. Eric Goodale -69
  7. Patrick Emerling -71
  8. Chris Pasteryak -71
  9. Blake Barney -78
  10. Jimmy Blewett -82


  • George Brunnhoelzl III
  • Melissa Fifield
  • Doug Coby
  • Matt Swanson
  • Sam Rameau
  • Patrick Emerling
  • Roger Turbush
  • Blake Barney
  • Timmy Solomito
  • Ken Heagy
  • Jimmy Blewett
  • Calvin Carroll
  • Wade Cole
  • J.B. Fortin
  • Frank Vigliarolo, Jr.
  • Kyle Ellwood
  • Timmy Catalano
  • Craig Lutz
  • Justin Bonsignore
  • Tommy Catalano
  • Eric Goodale
  • Rob Summers
  • Chris Pasteryak
  • Walter Sutcliffe, Jr.
  • Woody Pitkat
  • John Fortin
  • Ron Silk
  • Mike Rutkoski

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour