Connect with us

NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour

Justin Bonsignore wins sixth straight Whelen Modified Tour race at Thompson

The Streak Lives!

Adam Glanzman | NASCAR

The streak lives on another day.

Justin Bonsignore became the first driver to win five consecutive NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour races at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park in April, and on Wednesday, he increased that number by one.

Bonsignore scored his sixth straight win at the historic Connecticut oval, pulling away from the field after passing Jon McKennedy on a restart and never looking back.

It was the 22nd career win for the Holtsville, New York, native and his second of the season. The victory was his 11th at Thompson, a number that leads all active drivers.

“I don’t think anyone in the Whelen Modified Tour would ever think they could pull something off like this,” Bonsignore said. “Deep down, you know you have cars that always come here and you will be able to do it. But we have won them in so many different ways and there are some many different strategies.”

The strategy for this victory was rather easy to decide. Bonsignore took the lead from Lutz on lap 87 after chasing him for the top spot for the middle portion of the race. But a caution on lap 100 sent Bonsignore to pit road for fresh rubber. Once he received his new tires, there was no stopping the veteran.

He restarted to the inside of McKennedy at lap 106, and took the lead entering turn three on the following lap. From there, he pulled away from the field and rolled to victory.

“At lap 100, I was confident that if it just stayed green I would be fine, but I was sitting there wondering who was going to pit, who wasn’t going to pit,” Bonsignore said. “When McKennedy only took two tires, I knew what his car was going to do. Our car was just so good on three tires.”

Doug Coby, who won his second consecutive pole award in qualifying, fought a tight condition early that dropped him to the bottom of the top-10. But after a quick pit stop by his Mayhew Tools team, Coby mounted a charge up to second at the finish.

Craig Lutz, who led a race-high 73 laps, finished third. Former NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour champion Burt Myers was fourth, driving for the injured Dave Sapienza, while Ron Silk rounded out the top-five.

Eric Goodale was sixth, followed by Matt Swanson, Sam Rameau, Max Zachem and Woody Pitkat.

  1. Justin Bonsignore
  2. Doug Coby
  3. Craig Lutz
  4. Burt Myers
  5. Ron Silk
  6. Eric Goodale
  7. Matt Swanson
  8. Sam Rameau
  9. Max Zachem
  10. Woody Pitkat
  11. Tommy Catalano
  12. Chris Pasteryak
  13. Timmy Solomito
  14. Ryan Preece
  15. George Brunnhoelzl III
  16. Rob Summers
  17. Jon McKennedy
  18. Andrew Krause
  19. Blake Barney
  20. Ken Heagy
  21. JB Fortin Jr.
  22. Timmy Catalano
  23. Walter Sutcliffe, Jr.
  24. Kyle Ellwood
  25. Calvin Carroll
  26. Wade Cole
  27. Patrick Emerling
  28. Anthony Nocella
  29. Melissa Fifield
  30. Jimmy Blewett
  31. Joey Mucciacciaro

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour