Connect with us

Super Late Models

Fairgrounds Speedway Nashville set for North-South showdown

The best Super Late Model teams from the south central United States have descended upon Music City …

Josh Anderson | The New York Times

In the spirit of the All-American 400, the Civil War on Wheels will truly take place this weekend at Fairgrounds Speedway Nashville.

The oldest operating race track in North America will play host to the CRA Super Series, Southern Super Series and Southern Super Series on Saturday night as each of the three East Coast Super Late Model touring divisions will come together for what is usually a star-studded and dramatic prelude to the ARCA Menards Series race that same night.

It’s north versus south.

This will be the second time that the three template Super Late Model Series have co-sanctioned the North-South Super Late Model Challenge in Nashville, following two seasons in which the CRA and Southern Super Series spearheaded the event.

Last year, Casey Roderick came back from his 20th-place starting position to get his second straight win in the event.

Saturday’s 100-lap race is currently set to play host to 35 starters, led by Roderick, who is looking to win three straight in Music City USA for legendary team owner Ronnie Sanders.

Donnie Wilson won the first North-South Super Late Model Challenge and will debut his new Rowdy Manufacturing entry into the event. Wilson already has three victories at Nashville, including the 2017 All-American 400.

Three-time CRA Super Series Champion Johnny VanDoorn is entered and will make his season debut on Saturday night. VanDoorn won a Nashville All American 400 Guitar Trophy in 2007 and is poised for another one. VanDoorn got a third-place finish in last year’s event.

VanDoorn is tied for third in all time CRA Super Series victories with 22.

2004 CRA Super Series Champion Chuck Barnes Jr. is entered in a car for owner-crew chief Ritchie Wauters. Barnes Jr. won the 2004 All American 400 and the famous Guitar Trophy. Barnes Jr.’s efforts are supported by event sponsor Team Construction, a Nashville company owned by Brentwood native Donnie Mingus.

Current Southern Super Series points leader Gio Bromante is entered as he looks to win the 2019 Southern Super Series Championship.

Bromante and the Anthony Campi Race Team have started the season hotter than any Super Late Model team by winning the first two Southern Super Series events in 2019, getting the win in The Rattler at South Alabama Speedway on March 17th and then winning the Blizzard Series opener at Five Flags Speedway on March 29th. 

Cole Williams, a multi-time Fairgrounds Speedway Nashville event winner and two-time Fairgrounds Pro Late Model Champion, has filed an entry. Williams is scheduled to make several Super Late Model starts in 2019 along with running for a third Fairgrounds Pro Late Model Championship.

Defending CRA Super Series Champion Josh Brock is entered. Brock has two straight fifth place finishes in this event, he picked up his first ever CRA win at Anderson Speedway in May of 2018.

Georgia native Kyle Plott is entered. Plott is a regular with the Southern Super Series where he picked up a win last season at Crisp Motorsports Park. Plott also got a CARS Super Late Model Tour win in 2018.

Three time PASS South Super Late Model Series Champion Matt Craig is entered. Craig has eight victories with the PASS South Super Late Model Series, six of those during the 2017 season. Craig also has three CARS Super Late Model Tour wins.

Other top late model drivers who are entered include Speedfest winner Connor Okrzesik, 2017 CRA Super Series Champion Logan Runyon,  Wisconsin ace Dennis Prunty, Texas veteran Chris Davidson, Ryan Moore, Anthony Sergi, Anthony Cataldi, Molly Helmuth, Colin Garrett, Austin Kunert, Greg Van Last, Hunter Jack, Lee Tissot, Allan Karnes, John Batten, Scott Tomasik, Jeremy Pate, Jett Noland, Johnny Brazier, Kyle Bryant, Nolan Pope and local Nashville racers Wayne Grubb and Kyle Ivey. 

The North-South Super Late Model Challenge 100 will consist of a three hour optional open practice on Friday, May 3.

There will be another hour of practice on Saturday, May 4, followed by qualifying, a Last Chance race if needed, and then the North-South Super Late Model Challenge 100. The ARCA Menards Series will also be in action on that Saturday with a 200-lap event after the Super Late Model race.

Sunday, May 5 is the rain date if needed.

The race will be broadcast live by for $14.99. This broadcast does not include the ARCA race which will air on MAVTV and the Lucas Oil Racing TV app.

The complete entry list can be viewed below.

  • Cole Williams
  • Josh Brock
  • Kyle Plott
  • Matt Craig
  • Tate Fogleman
  • Jack Dossey III
  • Connor Okrzesik
  • Jared Fryar
  • Logan Runyon
  • Dennis Prunty
  • Chris Davidson
  • Ryan Moore
  • Anthony Sergi
  • Anthony Cataldi
  • Molly Helmuth
  • Austin Kunert
  • Greg Van Last
  • Hunter Jack
  • Lee Tissot
  • Allan Karnes
  • John Batten
  • Scott Tomasik
  • Jeremy Pate
  • Jett Noland
  • Johnny Brazier
  • Kyle Bryant
  • Nolan Pope
  • Wayne Grubb
  • Kyle Ivey
  • Casey Roderick
  • Donnie Wilson
  • Johnny VanDoorn
  • Chuck Barnes Jr.
  • Gio Bromante

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Matt Weaver is the owner and founder of Short Track Scene. Weaver grew up in the sport, having raced himself before becoming a reporter in college at the University of South Alabama. He is also the associate motorsports editor of Autoweek Magazine and its website, which allows him to cover the highest levels of the sport.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in Super Late Models