Connect with us


Modified stars aplenty throughout 2019 New Smyrna World Series entry list

Matt Weaver | STS

As usual, the kickoff event for many Modified racers, the World Series of Asphalt at New Smyrna has some of the best drivers in the discipline.

The week-long mini-season is a short-track racing fan’s dream, as some of the biggest names in short-track racing make the trip down to Florida for Speedweeks.

Tour-Type Modified stars like Doug Coby, Timmy Solomito and defending World Series champion Matt Hirschman are set to take to the track throughout next week, racing five times in the tour modifieds.

It is the last time fans will see Preece in a modified for a while. Preece is set to drive the No. 47 for JTG-Daugherty Racing full-time in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series in 2019. His first start for the team comes in the Daytona 500 next Sunday.

While the World Series runs from February 8 to February 16, the modifieds do not race until next Monday. Once they hit the track, it is a blur of five races in five days.

The 35-lap kickoff race for the tour modifieds on Monday will pay $1500 to the winner. Tuesday night’s 50-lapper has a prize of $2000. The winner of Wednesday night’s John Blewett III Memorial will collect $2500. Thursday is another 35 laps for the modifeds, and Friday concludes their time on the track with the Richie Evans Memorial 100. The winner of the 100-lapper is paid $3000, and the winner of the overall points championship will take home another $1100.

Those unable to attend the World Series are in luck. The entire World Series of Asphalt will have a free online streaming broadcast on Both the Tour Modified entry list and the schedule of all World Series events can be found below.

1NY Chris Ridsdale. Rochester, NY
2 Doug Coby. Milford, CT
2 Bertuccio Racing (Driver TBA)
4 Jeffrey Gallup. Feeding Hills, MA
6 Ryan Preece. Berlin, CT
11X Dillon Steuer. Bohemia, NY
12 Andy Jankowiak. Buffalo, NY
16 Timmy Solomito. Islip, NY
17 Bobby Measmer. Concord, NC
21 Jimmy Blewett. Howell Township, NJ
22 Chuck Hossfeld. Ransomville, NY
24 Dean Rypkema. Owego, NY
25C Calvin Carroll. Johnsonburg, NJ
25N Nikki Carroll. Johnsonburg, NJ
32 Tyler Rypkema. Owego, NY
33 Gary Fountain. Wesley Chapel, FL
36 Dave Sapienza Riverhead, NY
45 Timmy Catalano. Ontario, NY
46 Jeff Goodale. Riverhead, NY 
54 Tommy Catalano. Ontario, NY
55 Jeremy Gerstner. Wesley Chapel, FL
60 Matt Hirschman. Northampton, PA
64 Amy Catalano. Ontario, NY
71 Jimmy Zacharias. Candor, NY
83 Mike Willis Jr. Grantham, NH
92 Anthony Nocella. Woburn, MA 
05 TBA Bullet Racing Entry
07 Patrick Emerling. Williamson, NY

Friday, February 8
Super Late Models 35
Pro Late Models 35
Sportsman 30
Florida Modified 35
Bomber 20

Saturday, February 9
Super Late Models 35
Pro Late Models 35
Sportsman 50
Florida Modified 35
Bomber 20
Mini Mod 25

Sunday, February 10
K&N East Series
Southern Sprint Car 30

Monday, February 11
Tour-type Modified 50
Florida Modified 35
Super Late Models 35
Pro Late Models 35

Tuesday, February 12
Florida Modified 75
Super Late Model 50
Tour-type Modifieds 35

Wednesday, February 13

John Blewett III Memorial Tour Type Modified 76
Florida Modified 35
Super Late Models 35
Pro Late Models 35

Thursday, February 14
Pro Late Models 35
Tour Type Modifieds 35
Florida Modifieds 35
Super Late Models 35

Friday, February 15
Richie Evans Memorial Tour Type Modified 100
Pro Late Model 100
Florida Modifieds 35

Saturday, February 16
Super Late Model 100
Pro Late Models 35
Florida Modifieds 35

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Paul Lambert is an aspiring collegiate journalist. A writer and broadcaster, Paul's excited to cover New England short track racing in 2019. Paul has also been published in Speedway Illustrated and on

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in Modifieds