Connect with us

SWANSBORO, NC – Eric Winslow stormed to victory in Saturday night’s race at Carteret County Speedway, making a last lap pass for the lead before being taken out after the checkered flag.

Winslow made the pass to the inside of race leader Zachary Marks, after an intense four-way battle for the lead, heading into turn one.  Winslow and Marks raced side-by-side coming out of turn four.  Winslow crossed the stripe first to score the victory and then ended up being taken out by Marks at the stripe in a finish reminiscent of the 1995 Goody’s 500 at Bristol Motor Speedway.

For Winslow, the victory is bittersweet.  While he may have the trophy, he also has a totaled racecar after the postrace contact from Marks.

“I backed her into the wall really really hard,” Winslow said after the race.  “This is one of those things you never give up. My car is destroyed.  It pays $1,200 to win this race.  I busted my ass to win it, came from the back twice, and I have a destroyed racecar.  That’s bad.  I drove four hours and slept in my trailer to race here but that’s not the track’s fault.

“The track produces great racing.  It is a challenge to get around it.  That’s why I come back.”

The race was anything but easy sailing for Winslow.

Winslow started on the pole in the race but was spun early in the second half of the 60 lap race, relegating him to the rear of the field.  He had to race his way back up to the front but was penalized after initiating contact with Joshua Yeoman which ended Yeoman’s race.

“I did get off him but it was too much that he spun and wasn’t able to save it,” Winslow explained.  “I’ll admit I did that.  That’s my fault.  I really gave up.  I get upset in the car and mad.  I tend to drive a little hard.”

Despite the damage to the racecar, Winslow was proud of the hard work on and off the track that went to scoring the victory.

“I’m so proud to come here from Sellers.  I work all week until 4am to get the car here and we won this thing.  I can’t explain it.  It’s what fairy tales are made of right here, coming here to do this.  And I hope to god you were live and people saw it.”

Carteret County Speedway was live with the finish of the race.

The battle between Winslow and Marks was the climax of the intense race which saw numerous lead changes in the second half.  Chris Burns, Alex Fleming and Zachary Marks traded the lead among themselves several times in the closing laps of the race – but a caution with 12 laps to go put Winslow in the picture.

Winslow rocketed to the second spot prior to a caution coming out with five laps to go setting up the showdown for the finish.

Zachary Marks ended up finishing in the second position. Marks declined comment after the race.

Chris Burns finished in the third position, his third top-five finish of 2016.

“Yesterday, at 10am, we didn’t even have a motor,” Burns commented.  “We didn’t get to test last night so I think we were a little behind the eight ball.  Overall, I’m happy with how we ran.  We definitely showed we had a strong car and it felt good to be back up front.”

Burns had a front row seat to the thrilling finish and the extracurricular activity that took place after the checkered flag waved.

“I wish, a couple more laps and I would’ve liked to have seen what would have happened.  We got stuck on the outside the last two restarts and that kind of hurt us.  A couple more laps, we might have won after the battle royale.  I know the fans loved it because it was pretty interesting from my seat.”

Tyler Horne finished fourth in his Carteret County Speedway debut while Alex Fleming, also making his Carteret County Speedway debut, finished fifth.

Winslow is the fifth different Late Model winner in Carteret County Speedway history and the fourth different winner in 2016.  The track has never had a repeat winner in the Late Model division.

The next race at Carteret County Speedway will be held on August 20th.

Race Results

  1. Eric Winslow
  2. Zachary Marks
  3. Chris Burns
  4. Tyler Horne
  5. Alex Fleming
  6. Lynn Waller
  7. Zach Henshaw
  8. Gerald Benton
  9. Joshua Yeoman
  10. Tim Allensworth
  11. Jim Kelley – DNS

Marquis comes from St. Charles, Maryland and has a widespread background in journalism, having covered politics in Washington and Maryland as well as nearly every form of auto racing, including NASCAR, IndyCar, AMA Motocross and IHRA Drag Racing. Now living near Emerald Isle, North Carolina, Marquis covers Late Model Stock Cars and Super Late Models in the Carolinas and Virginia.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in Late Model Stock Cars