Connect with us

NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour

Justin Bonsignore completes dream season with NWMT World Series 150 victory

Bonsignore won eight of the 16 races to claim his first NWMT championship …

Adam Glanzman | NASCAR

Justin Bonsignore couldn’t have dreamed of a better way to end his championship season on the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour.

Bonsignore captured his eighth win of the season in the Sunoco World Series 150 at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park, ending his season by celebrating both a race win and a dominating championship.

The win allowed the Holtsville, New York, driver to become the fourth driver in the modern era of the Whelen Modified Tour to sweep all of the events at Thompson in the same season. Steve Park (1996), Mike Stefanik (1998) and Doug Coby (2015) are the other three to accomplish the feat.

“It’s been unreal, ever since we unloaded at Myrtle Beach, we have had a great race car at every single race track,” Bonsignore said. “To come here and to sweep the season, there are only a few select people who have done that, and it means a lot to me. It’s important.”

Bonsignore started third, but ran just outside the top five for the first half of the race. During a caution on lap 81, he rolled the No. 51 Phoenix Communications Chevrolet to pit road and changed tires. Quick work by his team allowed him to exit the leader of the race, and he never relinquished the top spot.

“We didn’t have the best car, but the pit crew did a great job and got us out there in the end. The car was really good on the second set of tires,” Bonsignore said. “It was the same thing we did all year at Thompson. We were going to race hard because we didn’t have anything to lose today.”

He defeated Chase Dowling by 97 points in the final championship standings, with an average finish of 3.4 and top-10 finishes in all but one event.

Jon McKennedy used a late stop for tires, and passed Ron Silk in the final turn, capping his season with a second. Silk was third, followed by Ryan Preece, who led a race-high 83 laps. Burt Myers rounded out the top five.

Doug Coby was sixth, followed by Matt Swanson, Bobby Santos III, Chris Pasteryak and Eric Goodale.

Bonsignore and his Kenneth Massa Motorsports team will be honored with the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour top finishers arnd special award winners at the NASCAR Awards Charlotte on Friday, Dec. 7.

The complete results from the World Series 150 can be found below.

  1. Justin Bonsignore
  2. Jon McKennedy
  3. Ron Silk
  4. Ryan Preece
  5. Burt Myers
  6. Doug Coby
  7. Matt Swanson
  8. Bobby Santos, III
  9. Chris Pasteryak
  10. Eric Goodale
  11. Anthony Nocella
  12. Craig Lutz
  13. Woody Pitkat
  14. Ronnie Williams
  15. Kyle Bonsignore
  16. Blake Barney *
  17. Sam Rameau *
  18. Rob Summers
  19. Tommy Catalano *
  20. Shawn Solomito
  21. Gary Putnam
  22. Ken Heagy
  23. Calvin Carroll
  24. Wade Cole
  25. Walter Sutcliffe Jr.
  26. Dave Sapienza
  27. Andrew Krause
  28. Timmy Solomito
  29. Cory Osland *
  30. Chase Dowling
  31. Melissa Fifield
  32. Dave Salzarulo
  33. Gary McDonald

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour