Connect with us

Super Late Models

Stacked entry list highlights Dixieland 250 at Wisconsin International

ARCA Midwest Tour

The stars and cars of the ARCA Midwest Tour will hit Wisconsin International Raceway on Tuesday night for the Dixieland 250 in what is sure to be a stellar early week special. The fifth race of the 2018 season for the series will pay $10,000 to win and $1,200 to start, with a field of over 40 cars scheduled for participation.

The entry list is stacked with a Who’s Who of Super Late Model racing for the annual Tuesday night event near Kaukauna, Wisconsin on the unique D-shaped, half-mile oval. The entry list includes the ARCA Midwest Tour regulars as well as those who compete weekly in the Fox River Racing Club at WIR. The field also includes drivers that compete in the NASCAR XFINITY and Camping World Truck Series, NASCAR K&N Pro Series and ARCA Racing Series.

Tuesday night’s race will mark the 21st running of the event and 14 different drivers have gone to victory lane since Dick Trickle scored the victory in the inaugural race in 1991. Steve Carlson is a six-time winner of the event while the last three Dixieland 250s have featured first time ARCA Midwest Tour winners, with Nick Murgic (2015), Dennis Prunty (2016) and Casey Johnson (2017). In addition, two-time winner and former NASCAR Camping World Truck Series champion Johnny Sauter will compete.

Four-time ARCAMT champion Ty Majeski will make his first Midwest Tour start of 2018. While primarily competing in a limited XFINITY Series schedule this season with Roush Fenway Racing, Majeski also won the Slinger Nationals and has victories at Madison International Speedway, Dells Raceway Park and LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway this season.

Joe Shear Classic and All-Star 100 winner Austin Nason comes into the Dixieland 250 as the current ARCAMT point leader as he holds a 12-point margin over Johnson, who recently won the Larry Detjens Memorial at State Park Speedway. Jefferson Speedway winner Paul Shafer Jr. will be looking for his second victory of the year along with State Park Speedway winner and former ARCAMT champion Andrew Morrissey.

The Fox River Racing Club weekly competitors will be looking to defend their turf on Tuesday night. Those coming to take on the Midwest’s Best include: defending FRRC champion Andy Monday, multi-time champion Jeff VanOudenHoven, Jesse Oudenhoven, Chad Butz, Kyle Calmes, defending Red, White, and Blue champion Bobby Kendall, Pete Vandermolen, Maxwell Schultz, Brent Strelka, Jake Carpenter and Mickey Schallie.

Derek Kraus, who is currently third in the NASCAR K&N Pro Series West standings with three victories, will be looking to be a first-time winner. He will be joined by other young guns that include Gabe Sommers, Grant Griesbach and CARS Tour competitor and JR Motorsports Development Driver Sam Mayer.

ARCA Racing Series competitor Chase Purdy will be making his first Midwest Tour start in the 250-lapper.

The gates will open at 4:00 p.m. with qualifying set for 5:00 and racing action at 7:00. A fan autograph session will take place beginning at 6:00. Tickets are $20 with free admission for those ages 12 and under. The race will also air live on for $19.99.

Preliminary Entry List

Dixieland 250 presented by SCAG Power Equipment

ARCA Midwest Tour

Tuesday August 7, 2018

Wisconsin International Raceway, Kaukauna, WI

Car #    Name    – Hometown      State

1          Jesse Oudenhoven – Kaukauna  WI

5          Casey Johnson  – Edgerton        WI

5          Jeff Holmgren, Jr – East Troy      WI

5          John Beale        – Verona           WI

5          Johnny Sauter   – Necedah        WI

7          John DeAngelis, Jr – Hubertus    WI

7          Paul Shafer, Jr   – Portage          IN

8          Billy Mohn         – New Market    MN

8          Chad Butz         – Suamico        WI

9          Derek Kraus      – Stratford         WI

9          Kyle Calmes      – Gillett              WI

10         Andy Monday    – Appleton        WI

11         Bobby Kendall   – Montello         WI

12         Sam Mayer        – Franklin          WI

12         Nick Murgic       – Rosemount     MN

14         Austin Nason     – Roscoe          IL

15         Gabe Sommers – Plover              WI

17         Grant Griesbach – Pewaukee      WI

18         Michael Ostdiek – Lakeville         MN

30         Pete Vandermolen – Oshkosh     WI

32         Brett Yackey     – Greeley          CO

34         Maxwell Schultz – Reedsville      WI

36         Dan Fredrickson – Lakeville         MN

39         Andrew Morrissey – DeForest      WI

42         Dennis Prunty    – Knowles         WI

43         Matt Kocourek   – Franklin          WI

44         Justin Mondeik  – Gleason         WI

45         Jeff VanOudenhoven – Appleton WI

45         Rich Bickle, Jr   – Edgerton        WI

51         Steve Apel        – West Bend     WI

52         Brent Strelka     – Freedom        WI

53         Jake Carpenter  – Ashwaubenon WI

75         Chris Weinkauf  – Merrill             WI

75         Dillon Hammond – Grand Marsh   WI

76         Jason Weinkauf – Merrill              WI

77         Jonathan Eilen   – Hampton        MN

81         Chase Purdy     – Meridian         MS

91         Mickey Schallie  – Darboy           WI

91         Ty Majeski        – Seymour        WI

97         James Swan      – Lake Geneva  WI

119       Dalton Zehr       – Daytona Beach FL

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in Super Late Models