Connect with us


Rain delay doesn’t derail Ron Silk from Tri-Track Seekonk victory

Seekonk Speedway

Open-Wheel Wednesday became Tri-Track Tuesday and it likely didn’t change the inevitable result.

Ron Silk unloaded with the fastest car last week when the Tri-Track Modifieds hit Seekonk Speedway, proved it during the first 22 laps before the rain came and solidified it on Wednesday night when the race resumed.

Silk resumed the race in fourth, took the lead on Lap 36 and only lost the lead for a quick change of tires during a caution on Lap 57. It took him just 15 laps to work through the top-20 through both speed and other drivers switching to their tires, and took the lead from Todd Annarummo after a restart on Lap 72.

There was one more caution on Lap 79 for a Matt Galko and Colbey Fournier incident, but not even that allowed anyone to catch Silk.

The 35-year-old led the rest of the way.

“It’s good to be here,” Silk said of Victory Lane. “Ever since last week, we had a good car and it was super-fast. Thanks to Bob Horn for preparing this car. This race could have gone a lot of different ways but we made the right calls.”

Due to his heat draw and finish, Silk started 16th but knew he had a race-winning car last Tuesday. His team didn’t make any changes over the week, nor did they need to.

“We started 16th and were fourth when the rains came,” Silk said. “We didn’t do anything because we didn’t want to mess it up.”

Matt Hirschman was second at the time of the rain-delay and that’s where he finished despite two pit stops on Tuesday.

“Ronnie unloaded the fastest and was still fast today,” Hirschman said. “For us, I’m just glad to have a podium. We’re pleased with second because I didn’t think we would be in the top-5. (Silk) was faster last week and it didn’t make a difference if this was 50 laps, 100 laps or 200 laps.”

Rowan Pennink did not make it back to Seekonk but finished third with Chase Dowling serving in a substitute role.

All the incidents were solo or two-car spins. There were no major incidents in either portion of the race.

Ryan Preece, Jon Kievman, Anthony Nocella, Les Hinckley, Mike Holdridge, and Steve Masse started the race last Tuesday but did not return for the finish. Each team that returned on Tuesday received a $200 tow money bonus added to their winnings.

Silk earned $10,200 on Tuesday.

The complete results from the Tri-Track Open-Wheel Wednesday 100 can be viewed below.

  1. Ron Silk
  2. Matt Hirschman
  3. Chase Dowling
  4. Russ Hersey
  5. Todd Annarummo
  6. Sam Rameau
  7. Jon McKennedy
  8. Woody Pitkat
  9. Richard Savary
  10. Dana DiMatteo
  11. Keith Rocco
  12. Matt Galko
  13. Tommy Barrett
  14. Ron Frees
  15. Mike Willis Jr.
  16. Colbey Fournier
  17. Derek Ramstrom
  18. Dan Meservey Jr.
  19. Rob Murphy
  20. Carl Medeiros Jr.
  21. Ricky Collins
  22. Ryan Preece
  23. Jon Kievman
  24. Steve Masse
  25. Anthony Nocella
  26. Les Hinckley
  27. Mike Holdridge

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Matt Weaver is the owner and founder of Short Track Scene. Weaver grew up in the sport, having raced himself before becoming a reporter in college at the University of South Alabama. He is also the associate motorsports editor of Autoweek Magazine and its website, which allows him to cover the highest levels of the sport.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in Modifieds