Connect with us


Doug Coby wins pole for Mod Tour Thompson 125

Matt Weaver | STS

Doug Coby was fastest in qualifying for Thursday’s NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour race at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park, pacing a 29-car field with a fast time of 18.747 seconds, placing him on pole for the Thompson 125.

The pole was the first of the season for the five-time series champion and the 22nd of his career.

Coby was followed by Ronnie Williams and Myrtle Beach winner Jon McKennedy. Behind McKennedy were Justin Bonsignore and Rowan Pennink to round out the top-five. Sixth was Burt Myers, followed by Rob Summers, Timmy Solomito, Dave Sapienza, and defending Thompson 125 winner Ryan Preece.

For interested fans, the Thompson 125 is viewable via a live stream on

The rest of the starting lineup can be found here:

  1. Doug Coby
  2. Ronnie Williams
  3. Jon McKennedy
  4. Justin Bonsignore
  5. Rowan Pennink
  6. Burt Myers
  7. Rob Summers
  8. Timmy Solomito
  9. Dave Sapienza
  10. Ryan Preece
  11. Chase Dowling
  12. Calvin Carroll
  13. Andrew Krause
  14. Jimmy Blewett
  15. Craig Lutz
  16. Woody Pitkat
  17. Chris Pasteryak
  18. Shawn Solomito
  19. Eric Goodale
  20. Blake Barney*
  21. Matt Swanson
  22. Tommy Catalano*
  23. Ray Parent*
  24. Ken Heagy
  25. Joe DeGracia*
  26. Walter Sutcliffe Jr.
  27. Melissa Fifield
  28. Gary McDonald
  29. Wade Cole

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Paul Lambert is an aspiring high school racing journalist. Editor of his school newspaper, Paul's excited to cover the Whelen Modified Tour in 2018. Paul has also been published in Speedway Illustrated and on

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in Modifieds