Connect with us

Late Model Stock Cars

Philip Morris sweeps South Boston Twin 75s

Four-time former NASCAR Whelen All American Series National Champion Philip Morris continued his dominance of South Boston Speedway Saturday night with a sweep of the twin 75-lap NASCAR Late Model Stock Car Division races that headlined the NASCAR Whelen Late Model Twin 75s racing program.

Saturday night’s sweep gives Morris five victories in seven starts at the .4-mile oval this season.

The Ruckersville, Virginia resident took the lead from former NASCAR Whelen All American Series National Champion Peyton Sellers of Danville, Virginia on the 12th lap and led the rest of the way in winning the first of the night’s pair of 75-lap Late Model Stock Car Division races.

Morris got a good start on the race’s final restart with 10 laps to go and crossed the finish line 1.275-second ahead of Sellers in taking the win. Danny Willis, Jr. of South Boston, Virginia finished third with Jason Barnes of Stony Creek, Virginia and Austin Thaxton of Clarksville, Virginia rounding out the top five finishers.

Twenty-one cars started the race that was punctuated by seven caution flags and two red flags as a result of mishaps.

Morris had a tougher time of things in the second 75-lap Late Model Stock Car race. Due to an inverted start of the top 10 finishers of the first race, Morris started 10th in the nightcap. He quickly began picking up positions, but spun in a multi-car incident on the fifth lap and found himself back in eighth place on the restart.

On his drive to the front of the field, Morris battled briefly with Sellers before challenging Barnes for the lead. Morris swept past Barnes on the 24th lap to take the lead, and with no caution flags to slow the pace, Morris sped away from his challengers and crossed the finish line 4.447 seconds ahead of Sellers to win the race and complete the sweep.

Barnes finished third, Thaxton finished fourth and Thomas Scott of Efland, North Carolina rounded out the top five finishers in the 16-car field.

Late Model Stock Race No. 1

  1. Philip Morris
  2. Peyton Sellers
  3. Danny Willis Jr.
  4. Jason Barnes
  5. Austin Thaxton
  6. Tim Phipps
  7. Jason Pittman
  8. Mike Jones
  9. Raymond Pittman III
  10. Dustin Ellington
  11. Chuck Barnes
  12. Quincy Adkins
  13. Chris Carroll
  14. Thomas Scott
  15. Nicholas Sanchez
  16. Woody Ellington
  17. Stacy Puryear
  18. Eric Winslow
  19. Bruce Mayo
  20. Tyler Hughes
  21. Kelly Kingery

Late Model Stock Race No. 2

  1. Philip Morris
  2. Peyton Sellers
  3. Jason Barnes
  4. Austin Thaxton
  5. Thomas Scott
  6. Mike Jones
  7. Tim Phipps
  8. Raymond Pittman III
  9. Chuck Barnes
  10. Eric Winslow
  11. Chris Carroll
  12. Dusty Ellington
  13. Quicny Adkins
  14. Jason Pittman
  15. Danny Willis Jr
  16. Stacy Puryear

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Read more Short Track Scene:

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in Late Model Stock Cars